Tweet Tweet.. by Amanda Darpino

Prior to this module, Twitter and tweeting were definitely foreign to me. As a class requirement, we had to tweet, which was weird to me. At first I wasn’t completely sure what to tweet, then I began tweeting about the articles we were assigned to read as well as other quotes I read about writing. I also tweeted whenever I added a new blog post to my blog, Fashion Forward Student. I did not get much feedback on my tweets besides a few “favorites” and even fewer comments, but I blame that on not having many followers.

I do believe Twitter is great for connecting with people in a professional community, more so than Facebook or other social networking sites. In order to find people in my professional community, I searched “#education” and found endless tweets about different issues in education. I did reply to a few of these tweets, but unfortunately, my replies went unnoticed, but my feelings weren’t hurt. Since getting acquainted with Twitter, I realized it is difficult keeping up with replies, even though I have got so few of them. This is mainly because I am so new to Twitter and still learning how to navigate the site, but I noticed the professionals I replied to have A LOT of followers, which is why my comment probably got lost in the sauce. I have a handful of followers and at times it is days before I notice a reply or message on my Twitter and that’s why I forgive these professionals for ignoring me. I have forgiven and forgotten.

One of the first professionals i tweeted was Dr. Justin Tarte. I chose the following tweet to reply to:

The most dangerous phrase in #educationpic.twitter.com/RPqxKR99qB

— Dr. Justin Tarte (@justintarte) February 18, 2015

The image that accompanies this tweet is a photo of the quote, “The most dangerous phrase in the language is “we’ve always done it this way.”

To which I replied:

 @TimElmore technology is taking over the classroom. as long as we incorporate those devices in the classroom, we will have the best of both

— Amanda Darpino (@AmandaDarpino) February 22, 2015

So, my second attempt was better, but still no reply. 

I believe this is because Tim Elmore has 33.8K followers and follows 28.3K.

His bio reads: President of @GrowingLeaders. Author of #Habitudes. Committed to training the next generation of leaders.

Tim Elmore posts about relevant education issues frequently. He follows fellow educators and leaders in education. By visiting his list of followers, i was able to find many other professionals in my field to follow. 

Although Twitter is still new to me, I believe it is great for getting in contact with fellow professionals. It is not my first choice for social networks, but that could change one I build my followers and learn to navigate the site better.

One thought on “Tweet Tweet.. by Amanda Darpino

  1. sarahdemora504 says:

    You have a great attitude about getting no response from people. It is a very hard task, and one that is not always successful. And I fully agree with you on why our tweets may get lost among others. Professionals like those, with millions of followers, most likely get tons of tweets per day, if not hour. It’s very hard, like you said, to keep up with all of them. But sometimes, there’s more to it. A lot of times, celebrities or well known people do not have the actual time to sit and read all the comments, tweets, etc from people around the world. Therefore, they have other people do it for them. In my opinion, it’s those people who decide which tweets to reply to. And it honestly sucks. But, don’t get discouraged! It can happen. It may take days, weeks, months, even years before someone well known notices a tweet from you. But trust me, it can happen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

