One Week Without Facebook… Did I Actually Survive? Theresa Baran

The assignment was to log off of Facebook for a week. Delete the apps from any device and stay signed off from the computer. I somewhat succeeded, but at the same time, I feel like I failed.

First off, I don’t use Facebook for communicating with friends. It’s mostly just scrolling through the newsfeed and picking up different stories that pique my interest- anything from BuzzFeed to YouTube that gets posted. I also use Facebook to feed my Tetris addiction. So a week without Facebook had me doing two things:

  1. I downloaded the BuzzFeed app onto my phone and was constantly going through BuzzFeed’s … Feed trying to get my daily dose of news, cuteness and awes.

  1. I downloaded a (horribly made) Tetris app, which made me want to break my phone. I love my Tetris and the app that I got was absolutely horrid.

So when the clock struck midnight, the first thing I did was go to Facebook and click the Tetris Battle link on the side of my newsfeed. I spent the next three or so hours going through Marathon mode of Tetris Battle. I hadn’t realized that it was going to be such a relief to play again. It was like taking your hair out of a tight pony tail and feeling your roots sigh in happiness.

But did I actually survive a week without Facebook?

Wednesday – February 11, 2015 —  my alarm blares in my ear, jolting me from a deep slumber. I groggily push myself up from the mattress, my hair a mess and grab my phone from my nightstand. I grumble as I shut off the alarm and go to open the Facebook app when the calendar notification pops up. No Facebook for a Week. Starting Today. A small string of explicits exit my mouth. I wasn’t feeling well and I had just wanted to go on Facebook, complain to my family- like I typically would do. But no. I couldn’t. So I put music on and got my day started, thinking I could easily do this.

But man oh man was I wrong.

First of all, I’m an avid Candy Crush, Pet Rescue and Farm Heroes player. Not only did I have to disconnect from Facebook for the week, but within 2 days, I had beat the episodes of all three games and couldn’t ask (and by ask I mean bombard) my aunt and best friends for tickets to the next episode.

I couldn’t do it. I did do it, but I was more often than not tempted to go on. I missed two engagements and a birth announcement during that week. Oh goody.

The bright side however, is that I was able to keep in touch with my Facebook only friends through messenger because messenger is NOT Facebook. It doesn’t have the games, the photos, the status uploads or the links that Facebook has. It was like texting my friends, but through an app released by the company whose main app I could not use. Yeah….

fbm

Let’s just say that I am glad that the week is over. I missed Facebook more than I thought possible and I am glad I won’t have to do that again.

Leave a Reply

